History of the Elias Child House
Early land records describe the framing of John Child's house in 1714. Probably starting as a one room dwelling, the home grew and increased as the family, and the wealth, increased. By the mid 1700s the home was described as the "mansion house." It is truly a compliment to a prosperous farmer and land owner.
The nine fireplaces remain intact, with two walk-in cooking hearths and a bee-hive oven. A smoke chamber for preparing meat is still present on one of the chimney columns in the attic. And one mustn't forget the unique "indoor outhouse," or privy, attached to the el, a true sign of wealth in the 18th century. It is currently part of a screened porch for all to enjoy. Twelve-over-twelve windows, many with the original wavy glass, original wide-board floors, paneling and wainscoting bear testimony to Colonial craftsmanship.